3 Art Galleries From India Exhibiting In South South Veza

3 Art Galleries From India Exhibiting In South South Veza

The first edition of South South Veza, a gallery led initiative by SOUTH SOUTH platform dedicated to art from the Global South and its diaspora, is now live with a vernissage selling event that happened today and exhibitions by over 50 participating galleries opening tomorrow. Three Indian galleries- Experimenter from Kolkata, and Chemould Prescott Road and Jhaveri Contemporary from Mumbai are participating on this new, year-round platform, with works from some of their eminent artists.

Mithu Sen, NOTHING LOST IN TRANSLATION 1, 2008
Mixed media on Japanese Kozo paper
137 3/4 x 94 1/2 in
350 x 240 cm

Chemould Prescott Road from Mumbai is showcasing ‘Holding Space’ (for the global south) a curated exhibition of 6 artists. The works on display balance this very delicate tension of multiple vantage points of identity, memory and territory whilst steadfastly holding crucial space for the South in the global narrative building. Our list of artists includes Shilpa Gupta, Reena Kallat, Jitish Kallat, Desmond Lazaro, Lavanya Mani and Mithu Sen.

Prabhakar Pachpute, Leaving a dead monument behind, Charcoal and ink on paper. 2016.

Kolkata based Experimenter gallery is showcasing an exhibition that brings together the work of Sohrab Hura and Prabhakar Pachpute. The exhibition’s title ‘A Land of a Thousand Struggles,’ comes from Hura’s body of work, the presentation proposes a lens to view politics of labour, right to employment and dignity of the people who are the original inhabitants of their land. At a time of shifting land, farm and labour policies in the subcontinent, the exhibition confronts the viewers with questions on disenfranchisement, inequality and justice.

Vasantha Yoganathan, The Sentinel, 2016, Black and white C-print hand-painted by
Jaykumar Shankar, Unique print in an edition of 7 + 1AP, 34 x 42 cm, 13.5 x 16.5 inches

Jhaveri Contemporary from Mumbai is showcasing hand-painted photographs from Vasantha Yogananthan’s ambitious seven-part book project based on sensitive reproductions and interpretations of the popular mythological narrative: ‘The Ramayana’. Finding reflections of these stories in India as well as orchestrating their staging, Yogananthan contemporise the epic.

Apart from the exhibitions, art aficionados can also tune into sessions from SOUTH SOUTH think tank live panel discussion

Join Experimenter Directors Prateek & Priyanka Raja in the talk programme – titled SOUTH SOUTH Think Tank – curated by The Showroom, London and convened by Elvira Dyangani Ose (Director, The Showroom, London) on Wednesday 24 February 1 pm GMT / 3 pm SAST / 6:30 pm IST. You can also participate in a Keynote Conversation with Shaina Anand & Ashok Sukumaran of CAMP on Sunday, 28 February 2021 | 2 pm GMT / 4 pm SAST / 7:30 pm IST.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *